Skip to content

Autumn on Mount Dandenong

July 2, 2012

This year would be the last chance for me to experience the full cycle of seasons in Melbourne. So the moment autumn poked her bright face, I grabbed every single opportunity to be connected with this glorious Mother Nature showing up at every corner in the city. Being able to watch the transformation of colours and shapes of this natural heaven always gave me that aaah feeling I badly needed. I thought then that I had had enough of autumn in Melbourne, until that day when I secretly entered into the deep wood on Mount Dandenong.

It was so foggy and wet on Mount Dandenong that morning. This 633-metre tall mountain looked like a fairy-tale labyrinth filled with all sorts of cute characters. Located only 35 km east of Melbourne city, I took the earliest train from Flinders Station, got off at Belgrave station and hopped on a bus to Sherbrooke Road. From this point on, I was left alone with nature and was transported to a different world filled with magic. I could hardly name these mesmerizing creatures since I was not a trained botanist, but I was certain they all shared the same name – Angelina Jolie.

Each time I saw these sexy and beautiful autumn leaves falling and seducing me like showers of gold, I felt like I was being reborn again. So abundant under my feet, I suddenly felt a pang of guilt for admiring their beautiful death. How pitiful. There was no one cheering and acknowledging their graceful falls. Aren’t they supposed to be treated with dignity like human souls? Angelina Jolie might agree with me, right?

My heart stopped when I finally arrived at the Alfred Nicholas Memorial Gardens. For a moment, I thought I had just seen a copy of paradise. Honestly, this was the most gorgeous foliage of season I had ever seen in my life. The dream-like kaleidoscope of silhouettes and contours made me feel as though I were part of an artist’s impression in a delicate painting. Things seemed to be eternal here. I was mesmerized beyond songs and poetry. Even Angelina Jolie couldn’t compete with this beauty. Sorry, babe.

So it’s true, the existence of this world is simply a guarantee that there exists a world that is perfect. I’m drowning.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Azrai permalink
    July 3, 2012 1:06 pm

    Wow! What a scene!…. Every single pictures are so colourful
    I thought autum is just a monotonous brown dominated season. I was just sooo wrong….
    Thank you for sharing these pictures. Now I wish I was there….grrrrrr….

    Like

    • July 4, 2012 11:35 am

      Always my pleasure, dear Azrai. Autumn is such a beauty. It’s sad I won’t be able to see this again next year. Perhaps we both can visit Melbourne in the future for autumn pilgrimage!

      Like

  2. July 3, 2012 11:45 pm

    Che Mi, comel nya tempat tu. If I were to visit the place next year which month should it be to see the same?

    Like

    • July 4, 2012 11:36 am

      Dear Pak Zawi – the best time to visit this heaven is in late May. It’s the peak of glorious colours!

      Like

  3. Lun permalink
    July 26, 2012 1:22 pm

    Thank you for sharing it with us Cekmi. I was mesmerised by the pics and your writing too. Angeline Jolie … Hahaha

    Like

    • July 28, 2012 7:58 pm

      Thanks for dropping by, Kak Lun. It’s always a pleasure hehe

      Like

  4. July 27, 2012 1:01 pm

    Salam Hilmi, I’m so happy to have come across this splendid blog of yours! All these photos simply brought me back to memory lane. Princes Park….Sydney Road…Melbourne General Cemetery (I lived at YMCA and selalu je went jogging around the whole compound). And your musings. Best gile! You have another follower from now on. Any ways to subscribe to your blog? =D

    Like

    • July 28, 2012 8:01 pm

      Salam. Thanks for your comment and kind words. I’m happy that my description about Melbourne matches your experiences. Must be a nice feeling. Feel free to subscribe. I think you can just click the “follow” button and, there you go, you’ve got me. Thanks again.

      Like

      • July 31, 2012 10:35 am

        No worries- it’s really a pleasure! Thanks for the link up and all the best for your PhD studies. 😉

        Like

        • July 31, 2012 11:23 am

          Thanks for your kind wishes 🙂

          Like

  5. October 31, 2015 6:38 am

    These are some of the most stunning pictures of Sherbrooke and Alfred Nicolas Gardens that I have seen. I am on the committee of the Not for Profit Tourism Association of The Villages of Mt Dandenong and we wondered if we might be able to use these pictures to promote the area on our new website. We would of course credit you as the photographer with a link to you blog. Our current website is http://www.villagesofmtdandenong.com.au

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 12, 2015 5:06 pm

      Hi Lisa. Yes, by all means. It will be my pleasure. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

